Tuesday 12 May 2009

Results of election to ACC Standing Committee

The results of the election to the Standing Committee of the ACC were announced this afternoon. Eleven people stood for the four vacant places. Those elected maintain a balance, geographically and politically, except that they are all men. None of the four women who stood were elected.

The successful candidates are:

The Revd Ian Douglas of The Episcopal Church, Professor of Mission and World Christianity, Episcopal Divinity School, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Dr Tony Fitchett of the Anglican Church of Aoteoroa, New Zealand and Polynesia, a family doctor in Dunedin and chair of the ACC resolutions committee.

Dato’ Stanley Isaacs of the Province of South East Asia, senior partner in a law firm, member of Diocesan Synod, Standing Committee, chair of Diocesan Properties Development Committee and Diocesan Investment Funds.

The Rt Revd Azad Marshall, Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East, Diocesan Bishop of Iran and Director of the Inter Faith Centre, Teheran, Iran.

Standing but not elected were:

• The Rev Canon Mwita Akiri, PhD, Anglican Church of Tanzania
• Mrs Helen Biggin, Church in Wales
• Professor Juanildo Albuquerque Burity, Igreja Episcopal Anglicana do Brasil
• The Revd Dr Maurice Elliott, Church of Ireland
• The Ven Dr Sarah Macneil, Anglican Church of Australia
• The Rt Revd Susan Moxley, Anglican Church of Canada
• Ms Sarah Tomlinson, Scottish Episcopal Church

The following have already been elected during this meeting:

Chair: Bishop James Tengatenga, Central Africa
Vice Chair: Canon Elizabeth Paver, England

The Following will remain on the Standing Committee:

Mrs Philippa Amable, West Africa
Bishop Kumara Illangasinghe, Ceylon
Ms Nomfundo Walaza, Southern Africa

No comments:

Post a Comment